The Legal Smoking Age In New Hampshire Could Be Going Up
New Hampshire may soon be following Maine and Vermont in increasing the age in which people are allowed to purchase tobacco products. According to the AP, a last-minute addition to the state budget could raise the minimum age from 18 to 21. In recent years, 16 states in the country have already raised the age to 21, including New Hampshire's neighboring states Maine and Vermont. While most people agree that smoking is a harmful epidemic that needs to be managed, some people are saying that 18, 19, and 20 year olds should be able to make their own decision on whether or not to smoke. Victor Vitale, a vape retailer in Hudson, questions the decision to throw it into the state's budget at the last minute. A similar bill was shot down in the State Senate earlier this year, but because this time it's a part of the state budget, it has a better chance to become law.
I'm somewhat torn on this. Banning tobacco purchases in the state for young adults may end up saving many lives. But when you turn 18, you're legally an adult...and I understand where people are coming from when they say that 18-20 year olds should be allowed to make their own decisions.
For more information on the proposed law, see the full story from the AP here.