But it's not the first state to do so.

There are actually now five states that do not recognize Columbus Day - Hawaii, Alaska, Oregon, South Dakota, and Vermont.

Three of those states - South Dakota, Alaska, and now Vermont, have replaced Columbus Day with an official state holiday known as Indigenous Peoples' Day.

A couple other large cities - Denver and Phoenix, have also joined in on celebrating Native Americans on this day.

Vermont's Governor, Peter Shumlin, issued an executive proclamation marking the change. However, it only applies to this year. It could be issued again next year by the next Governor.