NH Hands-Free Law: How Drivers React When They Cross The Border
This one is for all of you cross-border commuters going into Maine or Massachusetts.
The New Hampshire Hands-Free Driving Law has been enforced starting this month, which means motorists have to keep those hands on the wheel.
Of course, that is all well and good while they are driving through New Hampshire. We imagine things are similar to the video above when they cross the state border. We want everybody to drive safe, but know that a lot of you are itching to use your electronic devices.
We would advise against it though because the first offense is a $100 fine, the second is $250 and the third within two years is $500.
Here is what you need to know about the hands-free law:
- No use of hand-held electronic devices capable of providing voice or data communication while driving or temporarily halted in traffic for a stop sign or traffic signal or other momentary delays
- This includes cell phones, GPS, tablets, iPods, iPads or other devices that require data entry
- Emergency calls to 911 or other public safety agencies will be allowed
- Bluetooth or other hands-free electronic devices will be allowed
- One hand non-cellular 2-way radio use will be allowed
- Teen drivers under the age of 18 will not be allowed to use any electronic devices (hand-held or not) except to report an emergency. Anyone violating this will be subject to penalties and license suspension or revocation.
- If your vehicle is not equipped with Bluetooth functionality, auto service centers can install after-market systems or over the ear devices can be purchased at retailers such as Staples, Best Buy or your cell phone carrier.
The Dover Police Department helped WOKQ put together this handy tutorial that outlines the basics of the law.